MINUTES PRESIDENTIAL SEARCH COMMITTEE MEETING

Lod Cook Alumni Center 3838 W. Lakeshore Ave, Baton Rouge, LA 70808 Monday April 26 – Tuesday April 27, 2021 | Time: 9:00 a.m. CST

I. Call to Order and Roll Call

Dr. Gabriela González, Vice Chair, called to order the Presidential Search Committee Meeting of Louisiana State University and Agricultural and Mechanical College at the Lod Cook Alumni Center in Baton Rouge on April 26, 2021.

Present

Ms. Hannah Barrios

Mr. Clarence Cazalot

Ms. Gabriela González

Mr. Lester Johnson

Ms. Jessica Jones

Ms. Valencia Jones

Mr. Luke Laborde

Mr. Roland Mitchell

Mr. Steve Nelson

Ms. Christel Slaughter

Ms. Tara Smith

Ms. Takeyra Wagner

Ms. Mary Leach Werner

Absent

Mr. Glenn Armentor

Mr. E.R. "Chip" Campbell

Mr. Larry Clark

Ms. Lori Martin

Mr. Edwin Murray

Mr. Rémy Starns

Mr. James Williams

Also participating in the meeting: Mr. Winston DeCuir, general counsel for LSU, and Laurie Wilder, Porsha Williams, Grant Higgison, and Julie Johnson, all of whom are representatives from Parker Executive Search Firm.

II. <u>Invocation and Pledge of Allegiance</u>

The invocation was offered by Ms. Smith. The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Ms. Werner.

III. Public Comment

One submitted public comment:

Dr. Tina Patel Gunaldo, Director of the Center for Interprofessional Education and Collaborative Practice at the LSU Health Sciences Center New Orleans.

IV. <u>Interviews</u>

Dr. Gonzalez raised the question if there are any new candidates. Ms. Wilder indicated there was a new submission of applicant materials by Dr. Bill Tate, provost at the University of South Carolina, the previous evening. Mr. Cazalot, followed by Mr. Laborde, advocated to have Dr. Tate added to the list of interviews. Ms. Wilder indicated the search firm would schedule the interview and notify the Committee once finalized.

Ms. Wilder and Ms. Williams proceeded with interview instructions and procedures.

Ms. Wilder indicated Dr. Mary Ann Rankin withdrew from the interview process over the previous weekend.

Dr. Laborde questioned what the rubric for is raking the candidates. Ms. Wilder explained the Committee will interview the candidates then the Committee will conduct a discussion after the final interview. Judgement of candidates based on items outlined in the position description.

Mr. DeCuir indicated questions regarding the following should be discussed in executive session: litigation, personnel actions, conduct charges, and allegations.

The Committee conducted the interview with Dr. Laurence Alexander, Professor and Chancellor at the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff.

Next, the Committee conducted an interview with Dr. James Henderson, President of the University of Louisiana System.

Prior to conducting the final interview, Mr. William asked to conduct roll call for the Committee.

Present

Ms. Hannah Barrios

Mr. Clarence Cazalot

Mr. Larry Clark

Ms. Gabriela González

Mr. Lester Johnson

Ms. Jessica Jones

Ms. Valencia Jones

Mr. Luke Laborde

Mr. Roland Mitchell

Mr. Steve Nelson

Ms. Christel Slaughter

Ms. Tara Smith

Mr. Rémy Starns

Ms. Takeyra Wagner

Ms. Mary Leach Werner

Mr. James Williams

Absent

Mr. Glenn Armentor

Mr. E.R. "Chip" Campbell

Ms. Lori Martin

The Committee conducted the final interview of the day with Jay Dardenne, Commissioner, Division of Administration for the State of Louisiana.

After the final interview, Ms. Wilder clarified the Committee would narrow the candidate list after the Tuesday interviews as opposed to hosting a meeting on April 30, 2021.

Motion to recess the meeting until Tuesday, April 27, 2021 by Dr. Slaughter, seconded by Dr. Gonzalez.

V. <u>Reconvene Committee Meeting</u>

Motion by Mr. Clark, seconded by Dr. Laborde, to reconvene the Committee meeting on Tuesday, April 27, 2021.

The Committee conducted the first interview of the day with Dr. Kelvin Droegemeier, Former Director, White House Office of Science and Technology Policy with the United States Federal Government.

The Committee conduced the second interview with Dr. Ronald Clark, Major General & Chief of Staff, United States Indo-Pacific Command of the United States Army.

The Committee conducted the next interview with Dr. Jeffery Talley, President & CEO The P3i Group, LLC.

Prior to the fourth interview, the roll was taken.

Present

Ms. Hannah Barrios

Mr. Clarence Cazalot

Mr. Larry Clark

Ms. Gabriela González

Mr. Lester Johnson

Ms. Jessica Jones

Ms. Valencia Jones

Mr. Luke Laborde

Mr. Roland Mitchell

Mr. Edwin Murray

Mr. Steve Nelson

Ms. Christel Slaughter

Ms. Tara Smith

Mr. Rémy Starns

Ms. Mary Leach Werner

Mr. James Williams

Absent

Mr. Glenn Armentor

Mr. E.R. "Chip" Campbell

Ms. Lori Martin

Ms. Takeyra Wagner

The Committee then conducted an interview with Dr. Rustin Moore, Professor and Dean of the College of Veterinary Medicine at The Ohio State University.

The Committee conducted the final interview with Dr. William Tate, Provost and Executive Vice President of Academic Affairs at the University of South Carolina.

The Committee briefly recessed prior to entering into executive session. Motion to enter into executive session by Mr. Starns, seconded by Ms. Smith. A roll call vote was conducted, and the Committee voted unanimously to enter into executive session.

The meeting was called back to order, and the roll was conducted.

Present

Mr. Glenn Armentor

Ms. Hannah Barrios

Mr. Clarence Cazalot

Mr. Larry Clark

Ms. Gabriela González

Mr. Lester Johnson

Ms. Jessica Jones

Mr. Luke Laborde

Mr. Roland Mitchell

Mr. Edwin Murray

Mr. Steve Nelson

Ms. Christel Slaughter

Mr. Rémy Starns

Ms. Tara Smith

Ms. Mary Leach Werner

Mr. James Williams

Absent

Mr. E.R. "Chip" Campbell

Ms. Lori Martin

Ms. Takeyra Wagner

Motion to exit executive session by Ms. Barrios, seconded by Dr. Gonzalez. A roll call vote was conducted, and the Committee voted unanimously to exit executive session.

Motion by Dr. Jessica Jones to advance the following slate of candidates to the next step of the process to the Board of Supervisors: Dr. Kelvin Droegemeier, Dr. James Henderson, and Dr. William Tate. The motion was seconded by Ms. Valencia Jones. A roll call vote was conducted, and the Committee voted unanimously to approve the motion.

VI. Adjournment

Without further business before the Committee, motion by Dr. Nelson to adjourn, seconded by Mr. Armentor. Without objection, the meeting was adjourned.